Skip to content

Coloring Words

May 9, 2013

Crayons

There’s no doubt about it.  We live in a world that is moving faster and faster all the time.  The amount of information hurled at us daily is remarkable. And it is ever-increasing.  It has been said (Dr. Wayne Dyer is one of the people who talks about this when he encourages practicing meditation) that the average person experiences more than 60,000 thoughts each day.  That’s a lot of ideas to toss around.

This could seem like a wonderful thing.  Information is great, right?  I mean the more we know, the better we can become.   Well – – – maybe.  As with many things, it is easy to confuse quality with quantity.  What we are seeing in this fast-paced world of ours, is a continuous growth in the quantity of information, but not necessarily the quality.  Quite the opposite, actually.  ANYBODY can represent ANYTHING.  The line between fact and opinion is thinning.

Fountain Pen

And make no mistake about it, words are powerful things!  Words not only influence which products we do or don’t buy, they influence what we think and most significantly, what we believe.

People act based on what their beliefs are.  Put simply, when people read the written word, they develop thoughts about the information they are reading.  As they absorb the information and continue to develop thoughts, beliefs are formed.  Once a belief is formed, it may then be converted into action.  This process is the bases of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy one of the most effective types of therapy used world-wide for treatment of many mental health issues and disorders. 

The following example helps to demonstrate how this works:  You and your partner haven’t been getting along very well lately.  You mention it to your friend who then recounts a tale of a woman who learned her husband was cheating on her.  You dismiss the thought instantly (or so you think). 

What do you think you are most likely to believe when your husband then calls to say he will be home later than usual because something unexpected has come up? 

The seed was formed by the thought which is quickly forming a belief. 

How do you think you will greet your husband (the action/behavior based on the belief) when he gets home? 

The formula is a simple one :  thoughts —–> beliefs ——> behaviors.

So, be aware of this when you color your own words. Write responsibly.  Your words matter!

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Writing

82 Comments
  1. I agree that our words matter. I don’t believe a lot of the children and teenagers these days with social media understand that. That is why there is such a cyber-bullying problem. Words, whether spoken or types or written matter and carry a lot of weight with them.

    • Yes Jayme,

      Words most definitely matter! We are responsible for the message we send.

  2. Now I am going to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming yet again to
    read further news.

    • That is wonderful. I hope you enjoy them and please, keep following along!

  3. Hi to every one, the contents existing at this website
    are genuinely amazing for people knowledge, well,
    keep up the good work fellows.

    • I will do by best to keep the quality of information at this level. Its wonderful to see my words reaching others.

  4. Amazing! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

    • Glad you like our choice in colors :o). Good taste is not that easy to come by!

  5. You can certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers
    like you who are not afraid to say how they
    believe. Always follow your heart.

    • Thank you so much More Here. I am thrilled my passion is coming across!

  6. I believe that is one of the so much vital information for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. But wanna remark on few basic issues, The website taste is perfect, the articles is actually nice : D. Excellent process, cheers

    • Thanks so much for following and enjoying the writing!. Your opinions mean a lot.

  7. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now
    on. I want to encourage that you continue your great job,
    have a nice evening!

  8. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert
    that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  9. Hi there to every one, since I am really keen of reading this blog’s post to be updated daily. It includes nice data.

  10. Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  11. whoah this weblog is magnificent i love studying your posts.
    Keep up the good work! You understand, many persons are hunting around for this
    information, you can aid them greatly.

  12. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself,
    simply go to see this web site every day because it gives quality contents, thanks

  13. That is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Many thanks
    for sharing this one. A must read article!

    • Hi there. I’m not sure what plug in you mean. This came with the one I have now. I didn’t add it.

  14. Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  15. I love it when folks come together and share views. Great website, stick with it!

    • So glad you’re enjoying it! You bet. The plan is to keep ’em coming!

  16. Aw, this was a very nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to generate
    a great article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

    • It will come when you’re ready. It took me a while to actually get started instead of in sit and think mode. I promise, you’ll know when you’re ready to begin because it will just happen! PS – its a blast when it does!

  17. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see
    if the problem still exists.

    • Hi there. I have asked a few others and they don’t seem to be having the problem with the page loading slowly. I hope you come back and find the experience a better one next time.

  18. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  19. Wow, this post is pleasant, my sister is analyzing such things, thus
    I am going to tell her.

  20. I all the time used to read paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user of net so from now I
    am using net for articles, thanks to web.

    • Yes, I agree. I spend a lot more time reading directly on the web myself. I am very glad you have chosen my blog to be one of the places you come to do your reading!

  21. Excellent blog right here! Also your web site loads up very fast!
    What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate link in your host?
    I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    • I am so happy you are enjoying the blog. I promise to keep them coming. I presently am hosting this blog directly on wordpress but I will eventually be moving it to my own web-page when I gain a bit more of a following. It is pretty new and I wanted to try it out here first. I’m glad it loads quickly for you!

  22. Keep this going please, great job!

  23. Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in
    accession capital to claim that I get in fact loved account your
    blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing on your augment
    and even I success you get entry to consistently fast.

  24. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to
    be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let
    you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon.
    Kudos

    • I hope it is just something with your browser. I haven’t heard about this problem from anybody else yet. Did you try viewing it in a different browser to see if it happens?

  25. Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be familiar with afterward you can write if not
    it is complicated to write.

  26. I am regular reader, how are you everybody?
    This article posted at this web page is actually good.

  27. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging,
    and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something which not enough folks are speaking intelligently
    about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

    • Thank you SO much! I hope you will continue to visit and enjoy the site.

  28. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am having
    difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t
    subscribe to it. Is there anybody having similar RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond?

    Thanks!!

    • Thank you so much for the lovely praise! I tried to correct the RSS problem. I hope it helps.

  29. Hello to every one, as I am truly eager of reading this
    webpage’s post to be updated daily. It consists of pleasant stuff.

  30. I read this paragraph fully on the topic of the comparison of most recent
    and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

  31. I every time emailed this blog post page to all my associates, for the reason that if like to read
    it then my links will too.

  32. I seldom leave a response, however i did a few searching and
    wound up here Coloring Words | Color My Words. And I do have
    2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it look like a few of the comments come across as if they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up with
    anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of every
    one of your communal sites like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • You can follow “ColorMyWords” on facebook too and I also have twitter. There will be a new website coming soon too, so stay posted.

  33. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this website on regular basis to obtain updated from newest information.

  34. Hiya! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying
    to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix
    this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    Many thanks!

    • Hello Visit,

      I have not really done anything with mobile, so sorry, I can’t really be of much help.

      • Gratefully, I have not had problems with hackers. I hope all the people that visit here are doing so for the right reasons.

    • Hi,

      I’m not working with mobile aps yet, but I will let you know if I learn anything more about them.

  35. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a
    few months of hard work due to no backup. Do you
    have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  36. I leave a leave a response each time I appreciate a article on a website or I
    have something to valuable to contribute
    to the conversation. Usually it is a result of the sincerness displayed
    in the post I looked at. And on this post Coloring Words | Color My Words.
    I was actually moved enough to drop a thought 😛 I actually do have some questions for you if you usually do not mind.
    Is it simply me or do a few of the responses come across like they are coming from brain dead folks?

    😛 And, if you are writing at other online sites, I’d like to keep up with you. Would you make a list every one of your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • Thank you for your comment. I will actually be starting a new site soon. I will also be continuing with this one, hopefuly growing it and having followers visit the new site also so keep posted!

  37. I think the admin of this web page is really working hard in favor of his website,
    because here every material is quality based information.

  38. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and come
    with approximately all significant infos. I’d like to see more posts like this .

  39. Hello to every one, for the reason that I am in fact eager of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It contains pleasant information.

  40. If you wish for to grow your know-how just keep visiting this
    web site and be updated with the newest news update posted here.

  41. I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem
    still exists.

  42. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this website on regular basis to take updated from most recent gossip.

  43. I simply could not depart your website before suggesting that I actually loved the standard information an individual provide for your visitors?
    Is gonna be again steadily in order to check out new posts

  44. Nice answers in return of this question with genuine arguments
    and telling everything concerning that.

  45. Just want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity on your publish is just cool and that i
    could suppose you’re a professional in this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to clutch your RSS feed to stay up to date with coming near near post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the gratifying work.

    • Thank you. And yes, you most certainly can. Keep reading. I love hearing positive feedback!

Leave a Reply

