Skip to content

Finding My Voice

May 11, 2013

Image

 

I’m a writer and I when I sit down to write, there are times when words rush forward, flowing like a cascading waterfall, strong and forcefully.  Then there are the other times, when putting two syllables together to form a single word is a struggle, making me wonder why I choose to put myself through this.  But I’m finding my own voice.  The words I choose and the way I put them together to get my message out there, combine and I just stir up the brew, let it simmer a bit and VIOLA, a bowlful of voice.

If I’m successful, I’m finding a way to have you, my reader get who I am.  You’re getting a sense of me, my attitude, my personality.  The more you know me, the more unique my voice is to you.  It is what will set me apart from other writers.  I become recognizable, familiar.

The popular reality competition show The Voice is unique because it gives performers the opportunity to sing for the judges without being seen, granting them the unique chance to be judged solely on the quality of their voice; without any visual impact.  There’s something very pure about that format.

This is the way writing has always been. We capture our audience and build a following when our readers know and like our voice.  They get a sense of who we are, what sets us apart from other writers.   It is about making a connection and developing a relationship with people who don’t see me and who I can’t see.   

I am deep and very analytical, so it will come as no surprise that my writing will reflect that. I look for the reason in things, the meaning in everything. Life has taught me to temper my deep, analytical nature in many cases around certain people, but when left to be truly me, there is some deep thinking and analyzing that is going on somewhere. (And yes, sometimes it drives those closest to me to drink!) The only way I know this to be true is because of all the empty liquor bottles I find throughout the house that I know aren’t mine.

16764235-one-year-baby-girl-playing-upside-down-on-the-street
I am funny, or at least I hope I am. My sense of humor may be a bit on the twisted side, but I enjoy things that are clever. I also love slapstick and have been known to wake up at all hours of the morning to watch Marx Brothers movies (before the days of on-demand and DVDs). I appreciate the humor of people like Robin Williams because of how quick and brilliant he is. Watching him for 15 minutes feels like hours to me, he covers so much ground. It feels like I need to bring in an extra brain or two just to catch everything he says. He had me hook, line and sinker with his “Reality, wow, what a Concept” recording.

stock-photo-angry-bull-on-white-background-raster-version-117868879
I am stubborn. I’m a Taurus. I have an excuse. I fully live by the saying that I’m very easy to please as long as I get things my way. Just ask my family! And talk about beating a dead horse…I can guarantee that they all know the current definition of “my way.” I make sure that they do.

I can be quite persuasive when I put my mind to it. *See previous comments regarding stubborn and being easy to please when I get things my way.

And, just for the time being, I am done.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Writing

6 Comments
  1. Someone necessarily help to make seriously articles I might state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular submit amazing. Fantastic process!

    • Thank you so much for the wonderful comment! It is an important topic and I am glad you enjoyed it.

  2. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right. This publish truly made my day. You cann’t believe just how so much time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  3. I have been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours today, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content material as you did, the net will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

    • Thank you very much.

      I am glad that you like it. Please feel free to tell your friends and others you know. I appreciate the following.

Leave a Reply

