Skip to content

Choosing The Right Words

May 28, 2013
Scrabble

Scrabble

I love words….really and truly love them! Give me a good word game and I’m lost for hours. One of the main reasons I love writing is because of how much I love words. I love the way a blank page looks as it begins to fill up with words. I really enjoy watching the dark ink as it snakes across the empty page, forming symbols and words, joining them into sentences; combining the sentences into paragraphs and then the paragraphs into written pages.

There is something about that process that thrills me no matter how many times it happens.

I love the sounds of certain words. The word platypus for example is one of my absolutely favorite sounding words. It makes me smile when I hear it said, but even just reading it and saying it to myself inside my own head, I can’t help but smile.

Comedian George Carlin

Comedian George Carlin

I love comedians who make fun of words and their meanings. George Carlin was one of my all-time favorites because of the way he used to play around with words. His routine on “stuff” makes me laugh every time I hear it. I love his play on words with expressions such as Jumbo Shrimp and how we park our car in a driveway and drive our car on a parkway. His routine about getting “in” the airplane rather than “on” the airplane is another one that I enjoy. So is his bit on there not being any real blue food – although we attribute the color blue to things like bluefish, blueberries, etc., Carlin laments about how these are not truly blue at all.

When I was a real estate agent in my past life, we used to listen to these motivational sales tapes by professional motivators (now we refer to these people as coaches). I remember one who spoke in detail about how important it was to choose our words with care because there were many ways to say something, but depending on the words we chose, the meaning could be quite different.

Let’s play along with that one. I’ll come out with a few of these and then I’ll turn it over to you and your comments. See if you can come up with more expressions that can truly end up meaning very different things depending on the words we use.

Broken Clock

Broken Clock

Here’s one: Men, you can tell that special lady in your life how beautiful you think she is by comparing her beauty to time itself. “My dear,” you can begin, “your face makes time stand still.” Quite a lovely sentiment, isn’t it? Most women I know would see that as a lovely, poetic expression and feel pretty wonderful. Or, you could not choose your words as carefully and say, “Honey, your face can stop a clock!” Hmmm. Same basic concept, very different choice and words and most importantly, quite a different sentiment lingering after it is said.

Here’s another: This one compares your deep feelings for the woman in your life to the seasons of nature. You may tell her that being around her, for example is like “a new fresh breath of springtime;” or you may choose to let her know that being with her is like “the end of a long, hard winter.”

Now you guys try it. Think of one of your own and send it in as a comment. If I like what you send, I’ll post it and give you credit for sending it.

The Bee Gees told us how it was years ago when they sang in their hit song Words, “Its only words, and words are all I have to take your heart away.”

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Ramblings, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

