Skip to content

Easy Weight Loss

May 30, 2013

Weight Loss Ad

We have all been nothing less than inundated with advertisements and commercials about easy ways to lose weight. Everybody who is anybody, even those who have little or nothing to do with weight loss and healthful nutrition, have joined the multi-billion dollar bandwagon for quick and easy weight loss.

There are various times throughout the year when weight loss can be found more in the spotlight. Springtime is one of them because cold-weather comfort food eating is behind us, and swimsuit season is just around the corner. So, weight loss, once again, becomes the Holy Grail for many of us. There are countless new commercials on television and ads in newspapers aimed at filling our heads with hopes of transforming our out-of-shape bodies.

But here we are, months after our New Year resolutions and many of us have already resigned ourselves to yet another episode of frustration. We find ourselves facing yet another defeat in our battle against sustained, healthy weight-loss.

Why? What is it that makes for success for some of us and continued failure and frustrations for others? What tips for successful weight-loss have they found that we have not?

People tend to say that it is the diet or the weight-loss technique that fails or succeeds. This may be more than just a matter of semantics. Getting your head straight is perhaps the single most significant factor in successful, sustained weight-loss.

But, this is an intangible – something that isn’t formulated and put into a pill or beverage that can be marketed and boost sales. And we want quick results. We do not want to hear about all the work that it takes, over and over again. So, there is very little emphasis and attention put on mindset and the need to completely alter the way we look at ourselves and at food if we are in the market for successful, sustained, weight-loss.

Here are some of the main emotional and mental ‘ingredients’ we need to bring together if we are to reach our weight-loss goals and most importantly, to sustain them.

* Honesty
* Self-respect
* Consistency
* Tenacity
* Embrace/Rethink Setbacks

What does honesty have to do with weight loss? Well… EVERYTHING! If you need to lose more than 30 pounds and you have been overweight for a good part of your life, more than likely, you have learned to be dishonest with yourself and other people about your issues with food.

Gorging

Gorging

Many times, overeating is not the problem. It is the result of the other problems in our lives. We have inappropriately learned to use food as a method of coping with our feelings. We need to be brutally honest about ourselves, our lives and our relationship with food if we are to sustain weight loss and find lasting success.

Self-respect
and self-acceptance go hand-in-hand. We need to sincerely feel we are worth all the hard work and effort we are going to put into losing weight and becoming healthy. If we don’t really learn to love and feel good about ourselves, then our weight loss will only be temporary. We need to believe in ourselves and in our right to a healthy and rewarding life.

Consistency and tenacity are two more ingredients that go hand-in-hand. Consistency means you keep on keeping on. It is doing what has to be done – especially at times when we feel like not doing it. Tenacity is the determination and willingness to stay on track and even more importantly, to get back on track during those times that we may find ourselves being imperfectly human.

Setbacks are inevitable. We are human. We are imperfect. We will NOT be able to keep perfectly to our plan, no matter how much we may want to succeed. And the sooner we learn to live with that aspect of our own humanity, the more likely we are to handle the ‘bumps in the road’ along our way to sustained weight loss and keep them in proportion.

Weigh-in Scale

Weigh-in Scale

How do people lose weight and keep it off? By learning the truth about themselves and staying strong in their commitment to change their lives. They need to become healthy emotionally and mentally and keep putting one foot in front of the next once they find what works for them. They need to be flexible and willing to change things up, if something that worked before doesn’t work anymore. And most importantly, they need to internalize a new way of believing and thinking about themselves and the world they live in.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Health, Weight Loss

59 Comments
  1. whoah this blog is magnificent i really like studying your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You already know, lots of people are looking around for
    this information, you can aid them greatly.

  2. Hi friends, good piece of writing and good arguments commented at this place, I am
    genuinely enjoying by these.

  3. This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me.
    Cheers!

  4. Wonderful site you have here but I was curious
    if you knew of any discussion boards that cover
    the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

  5. Touche. Outstanding arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  6. Howdy would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different
    web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot
    faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting
    provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  7. Howdy, I do believe your website might be having internet browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening
    in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I simply wanted
    to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, excellent blog!

  8. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my site thus i got here to return the favor?
    .I’m trying to in finding things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your concepts!!

  9. What’s up friends, its fantastic article on the topic of teachingand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

  10. Wow, this post is good, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going to let know her.

  11. Hey there! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I
    had to ask. Does operating a well-established blog like yours require a lot of work?
    I am brand new to writing a blog but I do write
    in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    • If you write what you love and keep the interest of your readers in mind, you will be successful.

  12. I am extremely impressed with your writing
    skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

    • Thank you so much.

      This is a regular non-paid theme from WordPress. I’m glad you like it.

  13. Remarkable issues here. I am very glad to peer your post.
    Thanks so much and I am having a look forward to
    contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

    • Thank you for your kind post! I appreciate the following so please bring your friends.

  14. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    • I would LOVE it. I am looking for followers – so the more the better.

  15. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else
    experiencing problems with your blog. It seems like some of the written
    text on your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Many thanks

  16. Thanks for finally writing about >Easy Weight Loss |
    Color My Words <Liked it!

  17. What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience about unexpected feelings.

  18. Hello this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting
    to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  19. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang
    of it!

  20. I’m very happy to find this web site. I wanted to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely liked every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to see new things on your site.

  21. I constantly emailed this blog post page to all my associates, as if like to read it after that my links will too.

  22. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo
    News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed
    in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

    • Hi there..

      I didn’t know I was on Yahoo News… Woo hoo… 🙂

      I wish I could help you..maybe the keywords or tags have something to do with it…I don’t really know. Sorry.

  23. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog
    posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  24. You are so cool! I do not think I’ve truly read through a single thing like that before. So nice to discover someone with unique thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

    • I’m very glad you are enjoying my blog. Please feel free to spread the word!

      Thank you,

      Judy

  25. Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this
    site, and your views are pleasant designed for new users.

  26. Thank you for every other informative blog. The place else could
    I get that type of information written in such an ideal way?
    I have a mission that I am simply now running on, and I’ve been at the glance out for such info.

  27. I every time spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s content everyday along with a cup of coffee.

    • Thank you and I am glad you enjoy the site. I appreciate you spreading the word!

      Judee

  28. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I
    came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and fantastic
    design and style.

    • This is a lovely comment. I am very glad that you found my blog and that you’re enjoying the information. Please feel free to email me directly at colormywords@hotmail.com if you would like or if you have any special topics that would be of particular interest. I will try and devote a post to it.

      PS – I appreciate you spreading the word about the blog.

      Judee

  29. Very descriptive post, I enjoyed that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

    • Hi,

      I try and keep things interesting. I am sure there will be more on weight loss. Stay tuned.

      Judee

  30. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, just visit this web site daily because it offers quality contents, thanks

  31. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something again and help others such as you helped me.

  32. Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I
    was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to
    manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  33. I just couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual info an individual supply on your guests? Is going to be back often in order to check out new posts

    http://mikohswimwear.com/blog/marisa-miller-x-womens-health-the-secret-to-living-a-sexier-life/2012/01/

  34. Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.

    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • If you choose WordPress.com you will find everything you need there to set up your blog. It is all done ‘behind the scenes.”

  35. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can
    be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back someday.
    I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a nice evening!

  36. Now I am ready to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast
    coming over again to read further news.

  37. These are actually fantastic ideas in concerning blogging. You have touched some nice things here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.

  38. Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

  39. My family always say that I am wasting my time here at web, but I know I am getting familiarity everyday by reading thes fastidious content.

  40. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Homepage

Leave a Reply

