Skip to content

THE SKINNY ON EXTREME WEIGHT LOSS

June 6, 2013
Help Scale

Help Scale

Just like with many things in life, there are degrees of severity in obesity and weight loss. There are people who have to lose some weight because they are trying to fit into an old pair of jeans or who have a special event coming up and want to look better. A great example of someone like this would be the woman who has a baby and can’t seem to lose the last ten pounds she gained during her pregnancy. She can sign up at the local gym or maybe even try one of those programs that send in the prepackaged meals and if she keeps at it, the ten pounds will be gone soon enough. These people, the ones who have not suffered from weight issues most of their lives, are not examples of people needing extreme weight loss help.

There are other people, however, who have gone way beyond that point. There are those who truly cannot remember what it was like to NOT be overweight. These people are the ones who were the heaviest children in their class throughout all their years of school. They are the people who have developed and repeated poor eating habits and most likely non-existent exercise habits, for much more than half their lives. In some cases, they have never eaten properly and never been inside a gym. They have not only been scarred physically by their weight, but they have been emotionally damaged by it as well.

Obese Children

Obese Children

Many of these people have developed habits that are so deeply ingrained; it is as if their bodies are on automatic pilot when it comes to eating. They not only eat when they are hungry. They never would have gotten so far out of balance if that were the case. Food means a lot more than just satisfying hunger.

As they move further away from center, the amount of work and energy required to get back in balance increases. Then more motivation and determination is needed to correct the situation, but while the need for these qualities grows, the ability to conjure them up, decreases.

The effect is akin to credit card companies charging higher interest rates for people who have the least amount of money and cannot pay their monthly bills.

These people are the ones who need to look to more extreme methods of weight loss. They have gone way beyond being able to do it themselves. And thank goodness there are now alternatives for them. They no longer have to look at life filled with misery and in some cases, even death as their only alternatives.

There are medications being formulated to work on the build-up of fat. More and more of these are approved by the FDA than ever before. But it takes a lot of money to get them through the approval process and sometimes they are costly, and may not be covered by insurance companies who still view this issue as primarily cosmetic. Perhaps most importantly, they do not work by themselves. ANYTHING that makes claims to be all you need to lose the weight and keep it off, is nothing more than a scam.

Even more extreme than weight-loss medication is weight-loss surgery. Thousands upon thousands of people are opting for lap-band and gastric bypass surgery each year. And according to statistics, these numbers are still increasing.

These types of surgery alter the physical components of the digestive system in such a way, that it becomes close to impossible to eat too much. So people who choose these methods get a tremendous boost in decreasing their caloric intake. Their bodies will no longer tolerate eating the amount of food the way they did before the surgery. And, as they eat less and start to lose weight, they also begin to feel better and have more energy and develop a way to incorporate more physical activity into their lives.

Aerobic Exercise

Aerobic Exercise

Losing large amounts of weight (35 pounds or more) is not something that one accomplishes and then completes. It begins a life-long commitment of healthier eating. It takes a life-long commitment to remain physically active, to walk up the stair instead of taking the elevator. It means getting up a little earlier some mornings and getting to the gym, or investing in a treadmill for your home and working out on those days even when you don’t want to.

But more than anything else, it is a commitment to care enough about yourself to accept who you are, to forgive yourself for the times that you pick up that extra slice or piece of something you told yourself you shouldn’t have. It is about caring enough to do what you need to do to maintain the right attitude about health and well-being, because you’re worth it.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

35 Comments
  1. Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

    http://coltoneagles.com/groups/weight-loss-supplement-157953026/

  2. ll see much better results with this diet plan than you would
    with others that use some generic formula to calculate your nutrient
    needs. Except this is exactly what does happen, frequently in badly
    considered build muscle strategies. this program developer, Kyle Leon, is a well-known personal trainer and nutrition expert in
    recent years and is regarded as one of the most respected coaches in the world when it comes to building muscle mass naturally.

  3. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. Many thanks

  4. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

    • Of course you can share my blog. I appreciate your doing so as long as people are legitimately interested in what I post.

  5. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog post or vice-versa? My site addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours
    and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

  6. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for
    energy drink

  7. You made some really good points there. I checked on the net for more info about the issue and found most people will go along
    with your views on this website.

  8. It is in reality a great and helpful piece of info.

    I’m happy that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  9. I am sure this article has touched all the internet
    people, its really really pleasant paragraph on building up new webpage.

  10. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am
    genuinely pleassant to read everthing at one place.

  11. Thanks , I have recently been looking for info about this topic for ages and yours is
    the greatest I’ve came upon so far. However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you positive about the source?

  12. I truly love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you create this amazing site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own site and would love to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Appreciate it!

  13. Ahaa, its nice conversation on the topic of this article here at this website, I have read all
    that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  14. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any tips?

  15. If some one wants expert view regarding blogging after that i advise him/her to pay a visit
    this webpage, Keep up the pleasant work.

  16. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark
    your blog and keep checking for new information
    about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  17. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me dinner because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this topic here on your internet site.

  18. I got this web site from my pal who told me concerning this web page and at the moment
    this time I am browsing this website and reading very informative posts at this place.

  19. Hello to all, as I am genuinely eager of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It contains pleasant data.

  20. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity in your post is just nice and i could assume you are
    an expert on this subject. Well with your permission
    let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  21. I was suggested this web site by way of my cousin. I am not sure whether or not this
    put up is written by means of him as no one else realize such exact about my trouble.
    You are incredible! Thanks!

  22. Hello everyone, it’s my first go to see at this site, and article is genuinely fruitful for me, keep up posting such content.

  23. After exploring a handful of the articles on your blog, I truly like your way of blogging.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list
    and will be checking back soon. Please check out my website as well and let me know how you feel.

  24. I want to to thank you for this great read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it.
    I have you book marked to look at new things you post…

    http://philarts.spbu.ru/author/Zulma6535

    • What a wonderful comment! I am glad you have us bookmarked and hope you come back again often!

      Judee

  25. I love what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever
    work and reporting! Keep up the awesome works guys
    I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.

    • Thank you sooo much for making us part of your blog role! Feel free to write me personally and let me know what topics you and your friends are most interested in and who knows, I may very well blog on request! 🙂

      Judee

  26. Very good info. Lucky me I discovered your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  27. Hello
    I’m thinking about taking prohormones, do you think this is good idea for advanced bodybuilder like me?
    Bodybuilders are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles,
    just google for – 100% pure muscles without side effects
    – worth a try?

    • Hello,

      Unfortunately this question is way beyond my specific area of expertise. This blog is not intended as an endorsement or promotion of any program or product in particular and I appreciate you respecting that. So if you need anything beyond this, you will need to look into that further.

      Thank you for commenting though.

      Judee

Leave a Reply

