Skip to content

BIRTHING CREATIVITY

June 21, 2013
Creative Mind

Creative Mind

Something very profound (maybe not to everybody) jumped out at me earlier today. I don’t renovate, I create. I don’t take what somebody else has written or what somebody else has to say and revamp it, I tap into something within me and I compose my thoughts and then put them to paper….er to screen.

This is very important for me to know because it stands to reason that a person cannot create from something that already is in existence. The only place someone can truly create from is a place of nothingness. In order to create, you MUST begin from a gap. Or as, Dr. Wayne Dyer, one of the gurus of becoming your best self words the process, (I’m paraphrasing here) “the gap is where all creation begins.”

I’m going to stretch the word ‘creation’ here today to include accomplishments of any kind. For me, in order to kick start myself into action; I need to ‘create’ the right frame of mind. I imagine this is something that pretty much holds true for most, if not all of us.

Creating Music

Creating Music

So if we’re wanting to create our masterpiece, be it the artist who wishes to paint on canvas, the sculptor wishing to form a piece of clay into a beautiful work of art, a musician writing a beautiful ballad, a poet expressing feelings deep within their soul; it all comes from the perfectly empty gap between thoughts.

In one of my philosophy classes the professor had us write a paper about what we thought the writer meant when he said (again I’m paraphrasing) “it is said that the space between the bars is what holds the tiger.”

What I think Dr. Dyer means about creation beginning in the gap is sort of like that. When creators are busy with what already is, they’re not busy creating. I have to admit, it is quite difficult to write about this – the concept is sort of ‘out there’ in a way.

Lets come back to how busy our lives have become…how bombarded we are with information and data and noise, interruption after interruption…invading these precious gaps. Do we realize that we are sacrificing more and more time in which we could be inventing and creating – possibly enhancing our lives personally and globally?

I hope to be able to raise awareness. We have a choice to consciously preserve more time in our lives to seek moments of creation. We can opt for a routine where we focus our attention away from the disruptions that prevent us from maximizing our fullest potential. By regularly devoting a certain amount of time and effort into silencing all the existing input, we make room for and invite the empty spaces in which all creativity is born.

Creative

Creative

If you are interested in learning how to make more time in your life for creation and productivity, either comment here or send me an email directly to colormywords@hotmail.com, “ON CREATION” in the subject line.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

19 Comments
  1. Interesting read – reminds me of a poem I wrote, whilst wrestling with the issue of ‘finding’ creative time in between daily ‘chores’. The answer I seemed to find inside was that creativity should be ‘a part’ of all that daily grind. 🙂 Well made sense to me anyway! STILL does not allow for that ACTUAL ‘act’ of creation’ whereby we can physically see/touch/hear what we have ‘created’..but it does build up a HUGE store for the time it may be released – so to speak 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Homepage
  2. Charlie
  3. Paul S
  4. grand fantasia hack
  5. stryker hip recall
  6. low carb desserts
  7. curtain ideas
  8. wheel alignment prices
  9. types of window treatments
  10. extreme sports, namotu, paradise, extreme-games, potential, island, resort, kitesurfing, kite, surf, sky, diving, fishing, resturant, snorkeling, scuba diving, store, snowkiting, skiing, kayaking, snowcross, worldwide, spots, click here, go to my site,
  11. http://dtarasov.net
  12. View Feed
  13. you can find their new website here
  14. moved to a new location
  15. Stay Focused
  16. Click here
  17. Alicia Ryherd Tulsa
  18. Midsummer

Leave a Reply

