Skip to content

BLISSFUL BLOGGING

July 1, 2013
Blank Page

Blank Page

There it is again, the blinking cursor sitting at the upper left-hand corner of this white background…something I’ve become very familiar with and still instills fear into my heart at times (although not as often as it used to).

But such is the plot of a writer, and I still hope to be able to convert that feeling of “Oh my God, now what am I going to write” into “Thank God for the opportunity to fill this empty page.” I admit, I’m not quite there yet, but it is getting better.

Something happens as I watch the page fill with words, and at the risk of sounding a bit Twilight Zone-like, it is almost mystical, like the page fills itself and I am just the channel that the words flow through.

I imagine all writers experience this sense of flow at some point in their writing career. It is pretty exciting, almost out-of-body feeling. But it also has helped me grow as a writer in leaps and bounds. I have put together more writing gigs and been able to continue writing about topics, piecing together more information and more details about particular things.

I have become more willing to tackle larger projects and meet deadlines because I am enjoying the process more than ever before. And I feel as if I have gained the confidence to know that I am able to express myself in a way that others can relate to and appreciate.

That is where you come in. By writing and posting my views and thoughts, I am able to become validated as a writer. I remember when I was in school and we had term papers and projects to do, others in my class would moan and groan, but inwardly, I would feel a sense of excitement because I knew I was going to be given the opportunity to express myself on paper and see if I could make myself understood effectively. It was my opportunity to validate my ability to write effectively.

Person Writing

Person Writing

Now, I get that opportunity every time I post something here. The more feedback I get, the more input I get and emails I am sent by people who read what I have to say, the more I know that people ‘get’ me. I am saying something and it is being heard.

Sort of like a quarterback who fires the ball at his receiver and the receiver picks up the ball in mid-air and the pass is completed, it is like that when I write something and get feedback that it is understood or that it hit the mark with someone.

And for me, as a writer, there is hardly anything that feels better than that.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

2 Comments

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Homepage
  2. hakukoneystävälliset kotisivut

Leave a Reply

