Skip to content

A FUNK BEFORE THE FOURTH

July 3, 2013
Dog In A Funk

Dog In A Funk

I’m in a funk today! I don’t know any other way to describe this blah, listless feeling. I’m pretty grateful that they don’t happen too often because it’s not a feeling I like. It makes me think of a piece of driftwood in the middle of the ocean, just sort of blank and motionless if it were not for the ocean which carries it along while it just sort of lays there and lets everything happen around it, not really caring much or feeling an ounce of motivation to do anything other than just let itself be carried along.

It occurs to me that I experience this type of feeling more often when I complete a goal or at the end of a major event I’ve been working toward or looking forward to a lot. It is like I get to this point and my muscles relax, except not only my muscles relax; pretty much EVERYTHING relaxes. And some of the things that relax probably shouldn’t. Things like my motivation or my next set of goals toward the future or my desire to begin working on my next event or goal…so I pretty much start to feel empty and unmotivated. It’s not a depressed feeling. I am not motivated enough to feel sad or depressed. It’s a funk!

So now I start the therapy stuff on myself – first I do some inner yelling at myself for feeling like this. It isn’t always easy for me to give myself permission to feel just the way I feel and let it be. I guess I’m so used to trying to make people feel better that I am not likely to let myself get away without doing something about it either. And of course, I start ‘yelling’ at myself inside my head for feeling like this.

“You should be extra motivated and positive because of what you just accomplished,” I chastise myself. But the truth is that I also feel like I need a break, but since I look ahead and don’t have anything exciting planned (something I was excited about has just been completed,) that sort of brings me down and adds to the empty, flat feeling I’m experiencing.

But I also know that there are some things I can do that can help me get through it faster depending on what is at the root of my funk.

Involve myself in something like a wonderful book or movie that is powerful enough to transport me and make me feel something deeply. Finding a way to feel at all when I’m in a funk is much more important than the feeling itself.

Finding a new goal helps me regain a sense of purpose that may be at the root of my funk. Having a purpose makes us feel important and devoting myself to a new goal helps me fight the purposelessness I’m feeling.

Changing things up, even if it is as basic as going to work via a route I don’t usually take can help freshen up my perspective a bit. I know that a full geographic cure is more than I need, but a small shift in the places I go throughout the day may help me get outside of the feeling of being stuck nowhere.

Friends

Friends

Energized people may be the best method of all for me. There are some frieinds who always have an aura of positive energy surrounding them, or so it seems. These friends have a special way to pick me up and restore some of the positive energy in me and these are the people I should connect with.

Reminding myself that this is just a feeling and that feelings don’t last forever is always good therapy. There will be another challenge ahead and I’ll be back working toward a new goal and have a new sense of purpose in the near future.

Also, there are times when just because I have been honest enough with myself to admit how I’m feeling, I can start to feel a bit better about things. It is as if I have taken the big bad monster out into the light and he doesn’t look all that scary anymore now that the light is shining on him.

It also helps to accentuate the opposite positive feelings so I can turn today’s funk into something that can help me feel extra good when I experience joy and happiness.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

