Skip to content

WHAT TO WRITE WHEN YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT TO SAY

July 15, 2013
Editorial Calandar

Editorial Calandar

I’ve been a good girl and have followed what the professionals suggest about keeping an editorial calendar so I always know what I am going to write about (more or less) when I sit down at the keyboard.

But it is REALLY hot today (humid with a high of about 95 degrees Fahrenheit) and I don’t really feel like following my schedule. This puts me in a position where I’m here, not really sure what it is I am going to write about. Ever been there?

So, I’ve been thinking that maybe I should write about not knowing what to write about. That’s pretty valid isn’t it? As writers, sometimes words are just supposed to flow, without censorship and over-thinking things.

This type of writing feels very different than when I am fully prepared and focused. This is more of a stream of consciousness type experience in which the words sort of write themselves, if you know what I mean.

Typewriter

Typewriter

If I sit here long enough, with my fingers posed over the letters on my keyboard, somehow the curser moves across the page before my very eyes. I love when that happens. In fact, that might be one of the reasons I love to write. I know I can’t count on it happening all the time, because believe me, sometimes it is like pulling teeth to get through a single sentence. But when it does happen, it is a beautiful thing.

I want to pose a little writing challenge here. Please comment below or email me and share some of the things you write about when you’re not sure what you’re going to write. Even if it is something that never gets posted or published, just writing for the sake of filling up a page has its own intrinsic rewards.

I think as a community of writers, no matter what we blog about, this is something we can all share with each other and maybe help each other get over that excruciatingly dreadful blank page that we all face on occasion.

So here’s the question: WHAT DO YOU WRITE WHEN YOU’RE NOT SURE OF WHAT TO WRITE? Good Luck!

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

4 Comments
  1. dan permalink

    I love this…

    • Aren’t you a darling! I’m glad you did. I hope you’re still writing too.

  2. I’m always trying to find ways to get me to write, to practice writing, to produce writing worth reading. It’s been my dream to do this all my life and I’m finally starting to take it seriously. I’ve tried the stream of consciousness to find something to write about. Sometimes I pick a sentence out of a book and choose it as the opening sentence and write a story around it. Someone emailed me a way to journal that has you rewrite a memory which I quite like, like Sliding Doors. Anything to get writing. Like you said, once you start there’s something magical that keeps forming words and sentences before your eyes. Another method I’ve used is to read a news article then create two debating characters, and form their arguments. Now I think about it, it sounds like all the tools I was given at school are still rooted in there. Money well spent!

    I enjoyed your article.

    • I really am glad you enjoyed it. And yes, it does sound like the money for your education was well worth it. I find the stream of consciousness thing isn’t always available, but when it is, its really quite amazing.

Leave a Reply

