Skip to content

A GENERATION PASSING

August 1, 2013
Generations

Generations

It’s been a few days since I have managed to make the time for Color My Words and sadly the reason is due to the passing of my eldest living relative. She was quite a remarkable woman, my father’s older sister and the next to the last living person from that generation of my father’s family.

Nazi Regime

Nazi Regime

THAT generation translates into European World War II generation. And my head has been swimming with the circle of life occurring before my very eyes. It is like passing the torch on to my generation. We now represent the next layer of the family that miraculously survived the devastation that was Europe during World War II and Nazi Germany.

The purpose of today’s comments here are more therapeutic and self-serving on my part than most of my posts – because it is quite a ground-shaking feeling as you watch the door close on those who lived through an era that seems so far removed from our world of today.

Something that we all share to some degree or other in our lives, is a thread of connection to where we came from, not just our lives in the moment or our thinking ahead to the future, but our history. We may not know much about it, some of us may not have had the privilege of ever being able to sit down and talk, one-on-one with that piece of ourselves that tells the story of where we came from.

Some of us are, however, very fortunate. Gratefully, I am one of those who has been blessed with having spent time throughout my life, with links from past generations. This aunt that died earlier this week was one of the last pieces of thread connecting me to where I came from. And that is a pretty strange feeling.

As the number of threads to my past disappear, somehow, a different connection emerges. I am linked to them because they are now showing me the way that lies ahead. They are blazing the trail for us. I heard my sister telling my niece some specifics about the things she wants to make sure my niece does certain ways when it is my sister’s time to pass.

It is unsettling. Knowing that the ranks of those I used to spend time with are no longer here for me to spend time with any more, yet believing that somehow in the future, we will meet again and have a different type of time to spend together.

I find myself and my thoughts much more scattered than usual so I hope this post makes sense to those who read it. I would so very much welcome your comments and experiences to share. It always grounds me when I am reminded that we are not alone in our experiences no matter how unique they may feel.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Blogging, Family

Leave a Reply

