Skip to content

LETTING GO … MAKING ROOM FOR TRUST

August 2, 2013
Stream of Consciousness

Stream of Consciousness

Thank goodness for stream of conscious, free-flow writing. There is something so fully expressive about it. There is something about it that fills me with a sense of trust that I don’t get in touch with all that often. The trust element comes in when I give myself over to the process and almost sit back and permit it to happen to me as opposed to feeling as if I have to MAKE it happen.

It is an amazing feeling because it involves a feeling of letting go completely. It reminds me of those trust exercises I’ve seen done on couple retreat weekends or team-building weekends in which one person places all their trust in their partner as they let themselves fall backward. The point of the exercise is to teach partners and teammates that this level of trust is something they can attain and hold on to.

With the stream of consciousness that happens with my writing, I reach that level of trust in my creativity and in the process of putting thoughts down on paper (or into cyberspace as the case may be.)

There is also something very natural involved in it as well, because there isn’t room for my internal editor to trample all over things and stifle the originality within me. The way the words come through is the way they appear – without altering things or correcting things. And that is a wonderful thing for many of us writers too – because most of us have developed an overactive editor who appears quite often without invitation and stays well beyond the time he/she should.

Letting People Go

Letting People Go

Some of you may already know that this week, my ninety-six year old aunt passed away. She was one of the remaining relatives of my father’s generation and the experience of her funeral has made quite a profound impression on me because of the finality of the generation, not just of the person. My older cousins are next in line to the one remaining aunt.

So my intense feelings are coming from my being self-absorbed, preoccupied with the thought that my generation is on-deck. I don’t think I realized that before now. I didn’t see it that way when people first started to pass away. The novelty of death was an experience in its own right. The emotions of grief and missing the person and concerns about how you move on – they all took over when death was a new experience. But unfortunately, the novelty of it wore off and I’ve experienced it often enough to be able to take on a different perspective.

And now that there is only one person remaining from that age group, not only is my generation on-deck; we’re almost up.

Scary stuff. It means something different when the baton is passed onto people in my age group. This is now about the Circle of Life and the end of the keepers of the keys that we came from. Something quite profound to say the least.

Letting Go

Letting Go

It requires a leap forward into the unknown again – and hopefully I can develop the inner strength to trust this lettering go; the way I’ve learned to trust the stream of consciousness within me.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Ramblings, Wellness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

