Skip to content

WHY SPIRITUALITY

September 22, 2013

spirituality
I think it was Soren Kierkegaard who said “…the majority of men live without being thoroughly conscious that they are spiritual beings…”

There are times when I think about that and even if I did not consider myself a spiritual person, I think the fear of living and dying without finding out if that were true or not would lead me to spend a lot of time investigating it further.

One of the things that always left me feeling off balance, even when I was a little girl, was my fear of missing something. Whenever my parents had company over and I had to go to sleep – I couldn’t because I was so afraid I would miss out on something important. Those always were the nights I stayed up the latest.

So what if Kierkegaard was right and I could be one of those people who might miss out on ever knowing my spiritual being? Imagine how awful it would be to miss out on something as major as becoming aware of who we really are.

spirituality1

The way I see it, I’m the one person – the only person that I can ever fully know on this entire earth. I have been put here to live my life and I owe it to myself and to my creator to do the best with what I’ve been given, for as long as I’m here. I can not do any of that if I don’t know myself and discover who I am.

It is like being given a gift for Christmas by someone who loves me, but never opening it and trying to enjoy it as much as I can, even though I have no real idea of what is inside.

So, when it comes to there being any type of ‘argument’ or ‘case’ for developing our spiritual beings, I believe Kierkegaard hit the nail right on the head. The best reason to be 100 per cent certain about whether we agree or disagree with the concept of our own spirituality; lies in the very possibility of it existing. If there is no such thing, we haven’t really lost anything in our inner quest to find it. Maybe we devoted a bit of our time on what has ended up as a wild goose chase; but we’re not any worse off for the journey.

spirituality2

On the other hand,if we take the time to search for our inner spirituality and we are successful, then the payoff is a tremendous one – for not only have we prevented ourselves from missing out on something very important, but we’ve discovered another level of our being that we would never have found, had we not gone searching for it.

In other words, we have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

And speaking from my own personal experience…it is an amazing journey, filled with excitement, enrichment and wonder.

Join me!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Psychology, Wellness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

