Skip to content

A BETTER WAY

October 2, 2013
Money

Money

I don’t usually go the political route with many of my posts, but something about the upcoming shut down makes me feel as if I can’t remain silent. I read this morning on MSN finance that the financial cost of the shutdown is estimated at somewhere between $40 – $80 MILLION dollars daily.

Let’s start with the $40 MILLION discrepancy between the two numbers! Is it just me, or does $40 MILLION dollars seem like a tremendous amount of ‘wiggle room?’ How on earth can there be that much room for error? I mean, how can we not know whether some of that other $40 MILLION will be spent on a daily basis or not?

Do the math, people! $40 MILLION per day means $280 MILLION per week. Either we are losing that amount of money or we’re not! You can’t be off by $280 MILLION per week and not have anything much to say about it – can you?

Money

Money

But for some reason I feel as if by keeping quiet about it, I am okaying it (WHICH I AM NOT!) I don’t understand how ‘experts’ can calculate exactly what the cost of the last shutdown cost per day in today’s dollars, but somehow have no idea of how to zero in more on what it will cost us now. To me, it sounds like experts are totally unaware of how $40 MILLION a day is spent. I’m talking about whether it actually is spent or where it goes. I don’t know about you, but that doesn’t sound very “expert” to me.

Now let us move onto the issue of the shutdown itself! I am a writer. I get paid to write. If I have a client who wants their work completed by a certain day and I have agreed to take on the job, I am OBLIGATED to have it ready on time. If, for ANY reason, I fail to meet my deadline, I fail to do my job. My client is without the work they needed and I am without a client. They will not rehire me. They will not pay me or keep me on their payroll. We are all pretty much screwed.

Getting Fired

Getting Fired

Our elected officials failed to do their job! They had an assignment. They had a deadline. They failed to meet the deadline. THEY get to keep their jobs. THEY get to keep their incomes and pensions and benefits. THEY will not be impacted the way we will by THEIR failure to do their job.

WHAT?

We MUST find a better way to work together or else we are truly doomed!

Your comments and thoughts are GREATLY appreciated. VOICE OFF HERE!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

