Skip to content

DEVELOPING PERSPECTIVE

October 5, 2013
Driving a car

Driving a car

When I was a little girl, and we would go on a road trip I remember how excited I would get. My mother didn’t get her driver’s license until later in life and anytime we got to go somewhere, it was a real treat for me.

I’m not sure how old I was when I first began to think about operating a car and I can’t even tell you why this is something that I started to think about now, but I distinctly remember having the idea that the person behind the wheel turned the car on, got the car onto the road, and then the road is what moved while the car stayed still – almost like a conveyer belt.

I thought that was the way it worked for about a year until one day, I became aware of my father’s foot pushing down on the gas pedal. I asked him what he was doing that for and he explained it to me and from that day forward, I actually understood how it really worked.

The point of retelling this truism in my life is to bring up how our brains handle belief. When we believe something to be a certain way, we begin to perceive that it is truth. I actually recall feeling as if the road were in motion, moving our car and all the other cars to their destinations.

Perspectives

Perspectives

My belief powered my perception and then my perception reinforced my belief. The matter of correct or incorrect had absolutely no part in it whatsoever. Right and wrong were entirely insignificant. What mattered was what I believed and how I processed that belief.

But I was only a child. I didn’t know how it truly worked and my belief was wrong, no matter how it felt to me. It didn’t matter that it felt as if the car were being carried on the roadway and the roadway was what was in motion. The reality is that the roadway doesn’t move the car. The car motors itself down the roadway. And as I got a bit older, I learned more and understood more, thereby knowing the truth, which in time, led way to my being able to get my own license and drive myself where I needed to go.

Perspective1

Had I held onto my incorrect belief, I doubt I would have learned the right way to drive. I don’t think I would have believed there was anything I needed to do other than just get into the car and turn it on. I had to mature and learn more or else I wouldn’t have been able to develop further.

And now, all these years later, I see how the need for ‘growing up’ our perspective on things is in may different walks of life. Sometimes, we don’t even have to figure out what to do when we have a problem at all. Sometimes, the only thing we need is a change in our point of view and the solution just seems to present itself.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

