Skip to content

Heart Strings

October 14, 2013
Barbershop Quartet

Barbershop Quartet

A passion of mine that I no longer pursue is a cappella singing. For many years, I could be found in rehearsal halls, standing on risers and working hard to fine tune harmonies and improve breath support.

During one of the first competitions I participated in, our chorus performed “The Trolley Song,” that Judy Garland immortalized in the film “Meet Me In Saint Louis,” with a nice, tightly arranged 4-part barbershop style harmony

There’s a line in the song that refers to heart strings – I don’t think I’d ever heard of them prior to when we performed that song, but ever since then, not only have I learned about them; I’ve actually felt them!

Sometimes, all it took was a look, an expression that said ‘here, feel this!’ And almost without any warning, there was absolutely a pang, a tug, a pull that I felt right, smack dab, in the middle of my heart!

Heart Strings

Heart Strings

For me, it was never purely a feeling of love or caring, but a combination of those types of feelings and a sprinkling of pity or feeling sorry too. One time, after I broke up with a guy I was dating and began seeing another man, we happened to run into my ‘old flame.’ I remember the look I got from him to this day and let us just suffice it to say that this many years later, (a number that shall be unspecified for sure) I still remember the feeling as if my heart was falling off a cliff the size of the ones professional divers jump off in Acapulco during competition.

It wasn’t just that I still cared for the guy I had previously broken up with, it was the feeling of pity – of sadness – I was roped; hook, line and sinker. I’m thinking heart strings played a huge part in that.

Cody Real Cute

Cody Real Cute

I also am a heart string goner when it comes to animals and children. My puppy and I have a really cute routine where he lets me know he wants to be picked up. There are many posts that have been completed with me typing purely with my right hand with him very comfortably resting in my lap.

But then I start to feel bad because I have to make him get back down again. In order for me to ease my sense of guilt, I offer him a “Cookie,” a treat like a Beggin’ Strip or a chew. It happens so frequently that my family thinks he doesn’t have any real desire to sit on my lap, rather he knows that is a way to get a treat out of me!

Yeah, my heart strings are connected to my over exaggerated sense of guilt, no doubt about it.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

