Skip to content

Happy Birthday Superman!

October 17, 2013
Superman

Superman

I was minding my own business this morning, skimming through today’s news and facts and something happened that made me feel quite old. I didn’t let the feeling stay with me too long – I didn’t like it much at all, to be honest. And it came from quite an unusual source.

I saw this little clip that said, “Happy 75th Birthday SUPERMAN!”

Really? Superman has been around for 75 years? I know we’re referring to the comic version of the red-caped man, but 75 years is still three-quarters of a century!

Anyway, once I passed through the feeling of becoming older than I like to admit, I started to think about how much I enjoyed superman as a young girl. I know he was more of a boy hero, and had I fit the traditional mold, I would have more than likely have thought of myself as connecting to Lois Lane, but I loved the double persona that the man of steel had with the mild-mannered reporter.

The category this leads me to is that of HERO. Let us go for the classic definition here. A hero is a man of woman of distinguished courage or ability, admired for his or her brave deeds and noble qualities.

I can speak to my own experiences and say that having Superman as a hero growing up was something that served me well. After all, he stood for ‘truth, justice and the American way!’ What more could a young girl want in a hero?

Young Children

Young Children

So I started to look around at the children I knew growing up today, in what I believe to be a bit more of a negative overall society – in the sense that we are witness to much more violence and aggression in our own back door than when I was a child. To me, that qualifies a stronger need for a hero – someone who can stand up for values and integrity, who knows the right thing to do, who the bad guys are and how to apprehend them without hatred and revenge and more bloodshed.

But as I look around, I don’t see anybody. And that scares me. Who is a hero for today’s youth? Who do they learn to respect and look up to? Who steadfastly stands for something that benefits others and teaches values that we want passed down to future generations? Again I think…YIKES. Because I don’t really know who fits that category anymore.

So maybe I feel a bit old when I think about Superman being 75 years old, but I don’t think too many people have taken his place in all that time. I sure hope we find a Superman for today’s youth soon.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

