Skip to content

Let it Begin With ME

December 22, 2013
The Kindness Wave

The Kindness Wave

I will admit it. I am a bit of a Dunkin Diva. Usually I go for the flavored coffees but lately I’ve been pretty inclined to order regular (most of the time decaf,) but all that is not the point I’m looking to make.

I was in line today, digging through my bag for change after placing my order…I pull up to the window, money stuffed into my free hand as I leaned over to pay the young man handing me my coffee and I hear him say “oh, that’s okay, the people who were ahead of you paid for your order.”

I rattled my head, trying to make sense of what he said, knowing that I didn’t have a clue who they were, thinking maybe I cut off people who were in their party of drive-through drinkers. That must be it, I reasoned; they intended to pay for the car behind me that I must have inadvertently cut off when I entered the line of cars placing their late and coffee orders.

“Are you sure,” I asked the smiling young man waving me through and already looking toward the customer behind me. “I don’t even know those people. They were strangers.”

“Yeah,” the young many agreed, “they said they didn’t’ know you and you would be surprised.”

Kindness

Kindness

I motored out of the Dunkin Parking lot recapping what just occurred, amazed at the unselfishness of the act these people just performed. I know it was only coffee, but it is not something I see everyday. And I get the Christmas connection. I know it is most likely about passing on the Christmas spirit which is a wonderful thing. To randomly do something kind for someone can impact that person’s feelings about the day and about people kind. It can linger for a while, it can be powerful enough to be passed on to someone else. It is a great thing.

So here’s my wish for this Christmas…my wish is that we don’t only pass on the loving message of the holidays because it is holiday time…we reach our hand out to others anytime, any day, anywhere. For every needless act of violence and destruction we hear about, we should combat it at least tenfold with random acts of kindness and consideration.

Take it on yourself to be the starting place of the movement for goodness every day of the year. It doesn’t have to be an act that costs money if money is tight; it is just the kindness of offering a hand, or letting someone go ahead of you rather than honking your horn at them in anger.

Teaching Kindness to Children

Teaching Kindness to Children

Let us all pledge to teach our children that for every single hurtful act our society produces, there are swarms more offering love and kindness. Let is start with us, each one of us, today.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

3 Comments
  1. Very nice! This put a big smile on my face. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

