Skip to content

2-Step Weight Loss Challenge

December 30, 2013
Writing

Writing

Maybe it was because I did so much writing about being more aware of eating habits this year than in past years. Maybe it was just because I actually have begun to dread seeing celebrity after celebrity who get to line their pockets with the over abundance of weight loss commercials that are already starting to appear on radio and television and now even the internet.

But in any regard, I did something this past week that I have never done before and I am now living testimony for a great, low-cost, simple way to get a wonderful jump on one of the New Year resolutions that appear most often on people’s lists – to lose weight and get back into shape.

I am in no way looking to simplify overeating and the issues it causes. On the contrary, I know first hand how completely and utterly overwhelming it can be. But I promise, it didn’t take tons of will power or education, money or time.

There are two things that I did this past week that made a huge difference in the way I am going to be heading into 2014 mentally, physically and emotionally speaking when it comes to my weight.

Water

Water

I made a commitment to drink more water and stuck to it every day. I replaced at least one or two cups of coffee (or any other beverage of your choice) with just water. No flavoring, nothing added…just plain water. So, however much water you are currently drinking every day, increase it gradually.
I already have a pretty good understanding regarding which foods are lower in calories, carbs and fats from all the various fad diets and efforts I have made to lose weight. I’m guessing almost all of you do too – but if you need to do a bit of research, there is a tremendous amount of reliable information available on the web or in books to help you meal plan using weight-loss friendly food choices.
I wrote out daily food plans (including snacks) for myself, first thing in the morning before breakfast. I assure I account for 3 meals and up to 3 snacks per day and I include any beverages with calories (including coffee with creamer).

Note: I do not account for calories or points or grams of fat – I simply write out what I plan to eat for the day before I eat anything making sure I don’t skip any meals and the foods I choose are more geared toward weight-loss friendly choices.

Then I follow the day’s plan as best I can.

I even allow myself a bit of wiggle room for things like a glass of wine or a handful of something I didn’t originally plan for but don’t overdo it and not every day of the week.

THAT’s all there is to it!

Throwing Down the Gauntlet

Throwing Down the Gauntlet

I am throwing down the gauntlet to all my readers who struggle with weight loss or usually spend money they regret spending on some type of system or program because the New Year is right around the corner.

Please let me hear from you…about how you feel and what results you got.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Food, Health, Weight Loss

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

