Skip to content

Help, I’m Being Assaulted By Stimuli

February 14, 2014
This Too Shall Pass

This Too Shall Pass

Even when things seem to be leaning toward darkness, if you look for it, you can find the light. I don’t know about you, but for me, there are times when I feel as if I need that extra burst of hope, some type of force that stands out amidst the regular goings on of the day, to remind me that things may not be as bad as they seem at this moment and as it has been said ‘this too, shall pass.’

Human nature tends to have us fail to place much significance and maybe even ignore things that we can’t see right before us, especially with the non-stop bombarding of information we are faced with each and every day. But there are things in our lives that are extremely important, despite us not being able to see them or touch them. Emotions are very high up on this list.

Stimuli Overload

Stimuli Overload

We are hit with so many stimuli each and every day, and things keep flying by faster and faster all the time. Every piece impacts us whether we consciously permit it to register or not. (One of my concerns is that things are moving so very quickly, that we are not prepared and the result is constant bits of stress and strain on our systems, almost without our awareness of the assault.) It seems as if our systems don’t even get the chance to process one thing and before we know it, the next barrage is on us.

But whether we are consciously aware of it or not, they affect us, taking a toll on us. Sooner or later we have enough, whether we realize it or not. This usually takes on the appearance of us becoming impatient and irritable. We may find it much more difficult to focus and stay on task, with racing thoughts leaving us conflicted and even if we manage to get to complete the task, with a nagging feeling of dissatisfaction as if we’ve left things undone.

What’s a soul to do?

More and more, I find the need to empty my head and my jumble of emotions. I’ve begun a routine that includes me taking a mandatory time-out for myself each and every day…and it is an absolute MUST.

You guys know my drill, crazy hectic household filled with boys who each have their own issues. We currently took in our fourth boy; now we have the eldest who is 17, the two brothers, 15 and 13 and the new one who is 8. And, like about 80% of the United States this year, we have lots of snow which translates to more 2-hour delays and full-day school closings.

Peace and Quiet

Peace and Quiet

Not exactly an environment that lends itself to solitude, peace and serenity on its own. It’s taking me a while, but I’m learning to incorporate what I find I need for myself into the household routine. I figure, if I need some time to unload all the activity, it may be a good thing for others as well. So, on days like today, unknown to the four souls that are presently outside digging their way through mounds of freshly-fallen snow and sleighing down the steep slope in our back yard, we will begin a 15 minute rest time later this afternoon. That will translate to mean we give anything electronic a break, and just shut ourselves down in respect for each others need for some space and time to be still.

I know I need that for my own sanity. And I’m curious to see how that goes for them.

If any of you can relate…or have an experience to share…I’d love to hear from you.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

From → Family, Inner Peace

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

