Skip to content

A – AGING

April 1, 2016

You send mixed messages.

To many, you are in the process of taking on a very different look than you have in the past. Yes indeed, you may look different on the surface, but you are not fooling me…not lulling me into believing you are anything other than what you have always been.

Although you are now being met, head on, with new, modern technologies and advances in the medical field that appear to thwart your efforts, the types of things that present as if you are being diverted from your overall goal; I know you’re here – always – for all eternity, lingering in the background.

Is that because some people run from you, attempting to hide or deny the effect you have on them?

I, however, do not want to avoid you. Despite all the new, expensive products and procedures available to those of us who are willing to go to any lengths to conceal the impact you have, I am able to recognize you for what you really are.

Yes, I see you – and I also see me, reflecting back proof, especially in the tender new lines on the sides of my eyes that were not visible before and the new stiffness in my joints as I get up or sit down during my day. And there is more…more testimony to your existence, to your effects.

Almost as if you present me with the choice; the choice to deny or accept you. So, let me tell you, aging, as I sit here on this very day…

I choose to accept you, perhaps, even more so than accept, to embrace you, and permit you to gently guide me, as you have all along from the day of my birth; to guide me on this leg of my journey that I am not yet able to see.

 

 

11 Comments
  1. Robin permalink

    Love it. Especially the 2nd person point of view. Nodding my head in agreement as I sit with an aching knee caused by who knows what kind of dumb move.

    • Oh my, Robin… I sure connect to the ache without having any idea of what you did to cause it.
      Glad you liked it!

  2. Love it! I haven’t yet decided how I’m going to handle myself from here on out. But, I guess it’s official– a head full of gray hair, and oy! let me tell you about my aches and… 🙂 Good stuff!

    Bathsheva
    http://bathshevagladstone.com/

    • Yep Bathsheva,
      It starts with the gray hair…and then… oy vay!

      Truly. Its one heck of a journey.

  3. It’s looking like people are embracing age more than they used to. I was happy to read this post, it was very well done. Good luck with the blogging challenge!

    • Thanks for the feedback Nicole.
      I think its sort of the beat ’em or join ’em philosophy for me.

  4. Really liked the post 🙂 Thank you for stopping by my blog. Have a great month of blogging 🙂

  5. Really like it. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great month of blogging 🙂

  6. Sati permalink

    Very good! Great topic–lots of appeal to lots of readers… 😉

Leave a Reply

